Julie & Julia

11 08 2009
Saturday evening I went with my parents to see Julie & Julia and absolutely loved it.  We laughed out loud a lot and I even caught myself cheering and clapping a few times.  I had no idea it would be such a good movie!  So once I left the theater I had one mission: to watch the movie again with Eric.  Ah, but date nights are few and far between for us in the midst of our busyness.

Happily though, we were able to go to see the movie late last night!
So here are our thoughts on the flick…

Amy Adams as "Julie Powell"

Amy Adams as "Julie Powell"

Eric: Even though it might seem that this movie was made for women, it is enjoyable for everyone.  It’s a great couples movie.  I laughed a lot and enjoyed the character of Julia Child.
Verdict: 5 out of 5 Shamrocks.  Definitely recommended!

Meryl Streep as "Julia Child"

Meryl Streep as "Julia Child"

Kara: As I’ve already said, I loved the movie.  It’s funny, cute, and even inspirational.
I found the interactions between Julia and Paul Child to be very sweet, as a couple they just kept me smiling.  Julie and Eric Powell were adorable too.
The second time around I really noticed how similar the rhythm of the movie is to You’ve Got Mail and how Julie Powell even spoke like Kathleen Kelly.  Which is understandable, since Nora Ephron directed and wrote the screenplays for both films.  And hey, I’m not complaining, I adore You’ve Got Mail!
Overall, the movie is about finding joy in life and doing what you’re passionate about.  That message definitely hit home for me, as I’m sure it does for practically everyone that watches the movie.
Verdict: 5 out of 5 Shamrocks.  Definitely recommended!

Pictures courtesy of http://www.allmoviephoto.com.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

