Autumn Cometh

2 09 2009

It’s already starting to feel like Fall, or rather the prettier version…Autumn.  For us this means Eric is hitting the books hard once again and life can easily seem like just lots of hard work.  A way to slow down our speedy days and to find peace in the craziness is to appreciate the things around us, both big and small.

Like Autumn.  Personally, it’s my favorite season.  I love the weather, the hats and scarves (which I’d wear during practically every season, if possible), and just the overall feeling of Autumn.  Oh and the trees!  Missouri has such lovely rolling landscapes of trees that become God’s colorful masterpieces around this time of year.  And I want to savor every change from green to golden yellow and fiery reds and oranges.

Then there’s You’ve Got Mail.  In my brain Autumn and You’ve Got Mail are inseparable, you cannot fully enjoy one without the other.  Joe Fox perhaps put it best in one of his e-mails to Kathleen Kelly:  “Don’t you love New York in the Fall? It makes me wanna buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address.”  Ah, but I’m such a sucker for You’ve Got Mail anyway and I’m not afraid to admit it.  I’d mostly love to live in that movie.

You've Got Mail

Whether it’s enjoying big things like the season changing to beautiful Autumn, or the little things like curling up to watch You’ve Got Mail for what must be the billionth time….it’s pausing to truly appreciate those moments that makes them so marvelous.  And when life seems tough, those moments somehow become even more meaningful.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

