Grabbing Opportunities

29 09 2009

A wise man by the name of Ralph Waldo Emerson once said:

“Always do what you are afraid to do.” and

“All life is an experiment.  The more experiments you make the better.”

Ideally, I’d like to approach everything new or different in life with passion and childlike abandon but I sadly allow myself to get bogged down by doubts.  In fact, I’m an expert at thinking myself into a corner only to keep myself there for a while.  And believe you-me, not many fun things happen in corners.

Well, it’s time to not just step out of the corner, but to run outside with arms open wide.  That’s the type of joy and attitude that’ll truly change your life.  New opportunities are everywhere, I just need to grab at them!

Some opportunities I’m considering grabbing at:  teaching a group of kids soccer, cooking new meals, challenging myself to make handmade things, truly starting on the writing projects in my head and there are probably a few more where those came from!

Now it’s time to make plans to tackle some of these!

(Brooke wrote two posts recently about taking grown-up advice from kids on this topic, so these thoughts somewhat started there.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

