Pumpkins, Pumpkins Everywhere

11 10 2009

I said I would show the pumpkins we got from the pumpkin patch last weekend, so here are the pictures!

These two pumpkins are called Pie Pumpkins.  You can open the top, put in butter and cinnamon, and bake them and eat all of the insides.  We hope to try that out sometime with these little guys!

The big acorn is actually a really good-smelling candle I got from Bed Bath & Beyond last year.  I need to remind myself to actually burn it this year!

And I’ve been excited to take a picture of our pumpkin pie plate.  We got it about a month ago at Macy’s.  As you can see, it has the recipes for the pie and pie crust on it, along with cute little illustrations of the ingredients.  There’s a debate going on between us if we should actually use the plate for baking or just decoration.

Now this big pumpkin we didn’t actually pick up at the pumpkin patch.  My parents brought it back with them from their trip to Colorado.  I think it’s the prettiest big pumpkin I’ve ever seen.

And lastly, here’s our Apple Gourd and Jack Be Littles.  This electric fireplace is in our media room for the season, that’s why you see the old movie posters on the wall.

This is the first year I’ve seen apple gourds before, but I really like them.  The guy we spoke with at the pumpkin patch said many people eventually scrape off the skin of the gourd once it’s dry and display it or even make a bird house.  Sounds neat!


Actions

Information

2 responses

24 10 2009
Susan Reindel

We got some apple gourds at the farmers’ market…they are super neat!

25 10 2009
Kara "Sky" McGinty

Fun! Are you planning on drying them out? I’m trying to figure out that process…

Leave a comment