Making Autumn Cards

14 10 2009

I’ve always enjoyed making little projects out of paper.  Nothing spectacular, of course.  Just simple things that are cute and hopefully bring a smile to someone’s face.

I remember making my parents paper ornaments for Christmas one year.  They were just construction paper with little cut out graphics that I printed off of the computer and some string attached to the top.  I was so proud of those!

In junior high and high school I would find pictures of my favorite things (old movie posters, characters, etc.) online, print them out and cut and paste them to my folders.  I always liked having customized things to brighten my day.

So, it only seems logical that my first few crafting projects have to do with paper.  Who knows, it might always be my favorite medium to create with.  (Though I really enjoy photography as well.)

Here are some of my supplies, with the exception of my Cutter Bee scissors (I guess they buzzed away during this picture) and Nancy Griffin the Typewriter.  And my brain, but that would be impossible to take a picture of!

Everything I cut out is cut free-handed, no sketching.  I think that gives everything a bit more personality and character.  Plus, I don’t have to follow any “rules” that way!

And here is the front of the first card I made.  I’m still learning the fine art of not smudging glue everywhere.

And here is the inside of the same card.  (Click for a larger picture.)

And here is the card/display I made for my mom.  (Click for a larger picture.)

All of the decorative elements are on the “inside” so it can stand up to be displayed.  (Click for a larger picture.)

I really enjoyed making these little cards and I already have some other items cut out for more!  It feels great to make things by hand.  I think these are a few steps in the right direction.

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 10 2009
Carol

Those are sweet! Nothing is better than a handmade card!!

Take a look at my blog. I have an award for you! 🙂

16 10 2009
Kara "Sky" McGinty

Thank you so very much for the sweet award! 😀 It made us super excited! Haha!

I’ll be sure to post about the award soon (though I don’t know if I’ll do the whole 15 blog list or not)!

Leave a Reply

