The Superb Swell Season Concert

6 12 2009

The Swell Season concert we attended this past week was absolutely phenomenal.  Though our seats were not as close as we had imagined and our pictures of the performers were unrecognizably fuzzy we still had an outstanding time.

Glen and Marketa of The Swell Season are so authentic and obviously in love with performing music that it is truly inspirational.  My mouth fell open more than a few times as the intensity of the songs shocked me (in a very, very good way).

At the close of the concert there were two encores.  I think those were my favorite parts of the entire performance.  During the encores, they performed an entirely new song (never recorded) and Glen taught us the chorus and had us sing along.  It was evident that Glen loved audience participation because he had the audience sing along to many of the other songs as well.  The last two songs he kept on calling the audience the “Kansas City Choir” and encouraging everyone to make insane harmonies.

It really blew Eric and I away.  We expected a great concert.  What we didn’t expect was a moving and surprisingly spiritual and inspirational experience.  Listening to the entire audience sing with every ounce of energy they had to the close of the old Irish ballad “The Parting Glass” was enough to make me misty.

O, all the money e’er I had,
I spent it in good company.
And all the harm that ever I’ve done,
alas it was to none but me.
And all I’ve done for want of wit
to mem’ry now I can’t recall;
So fill to me the parting glass,
Good night and joy be with you all.

O, all the comrades e’er I had,
They’re sorry for my going away.
And all the sweethearts e’er I had,
They’d wished me one more day to stay.
But since it falls unto my lot,
That I should rise and you should not,
I gently rise and softly call,
Goodnight and joy be with you all.

If I had money enough to spend,
And leisure time to sit awhile.
There is a fair maid in this town,
That sorely has my heart beguiled.
Her rosy cheeks and ruby lips,
I own, she has my heart in thrall;
Then fill to me the parting glass,
Good night and joy be with you all.

~”The Parting Glass”

These and a couple other concert pictures can be found over at our Flicker account in this set.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

